1. Home
  2. Apprentices
  3. Advice
  4. Apprenticeship Levels
  5. What Level Is An Intermediate Apprenticeship

What Level Is An Intermediate Apprenticeship

An intermediate apprenticeship is a Level 2 apprenticeship that you need five GCSE passes to apply for.

They are an excellent way to start your future career, and for those over the age of 16, they give an alternative to staying in school and learning in a traditional classroom atmosphere.

As an intermediate apprentice, you will study for qualifications equal to five GCSEs, such as NVQ Level 2, and a knowledge-based qualification, such as a BTEC Diploma and Certificate, relevant to the industry and job role. After that, you may proceed to more advanced and higher-level apprenticeships.

The admission standards for intermediate apprenticeships vary, with some employers demanding two or more GCSEs and others not needing official qualifications. However, if you do not have GCSEs in English and Mathematics, you will be required to do these courses as part of your apprenticeship.

Updated on August 31, 2022

Was this helpful?

Related content