1. Home
  2. Employers
  3. Advice
  4. General
  5. What Elements Make Up Your Apprenticeship

What Elements Make Up Your Apprenticeship

Apprenticeship students work with experienced practitioners, gaining job-specific skills and collecting a paycheck. They are often given the flexibility to train for their work, usually one day a week. Apprenticeships may last anywhere from one to five years, depending on the degree.

Each apprenticeship consists of various skills and components, so what elements make up your apprenticeship?

Knowledge-Based Qualification (KBQ)

Individual KBQs can be available for some apprenticeships (also known as a Technical Certificate or a Technical Knowledge Qualification). However, this necessitates the necessary theory and experience for the particular job.

Competence-Based Qualification (CBQ)

An assessment is done at the centre and the workplace to guarantee that an apprentice is skilled in their occupation or job status. This credential indicates that the learners possess the requisite credentials for the job.

Combined Qualification (CQ)

Any apprenticeship scheme offers a CQ that includes both knowledge-based and competency-based elements and follows the CBQ and KBQ requirements.

Functional Skills

To maintain our high expectations, the basic needs for Functional Skills in apprenticeships are English and Maths at Level 1 for intermediate (Level 2) apprenticeships and Level 2 for specialised (Level 3) apprenticeships. In addition, specific programmes can often include the completion of an ICT Functional Skills qualification at the intermediate or advanced stage.

Employment Rights and Responsibilities (ERR)

It is essential that ERR training provides apprentices with a solid understanding of employer and employee rights and responsibilities under Employment Law and how other regulations can affect employment rights. This subject may be covered by the framework’s experience or competence area, but there may also be a specific certification within the NCFE apprenticeship.

ERR workbooks are available from the relevant Sector Skills Council or Standard Setting Body.

Additional Employer Requirements (AER)

Depending on where an apprentice works, they can be expected to learn new techniques. This type of certification is not funded and usually covers job-specific training, such as first aid or health and safety.

Personal Learning and Thinking Skills (PLTS)

Any part of our apprenticeship programmes is built to allow apprentices to learn and grow in confidence actively. As a consequence, each apprentice is assessed using a series of PLTS. Goals are created based on the skills needed for life achievement and growth. A set of certificates has already been allocated to one of the six PLTS.

The 6 PLTS are:

  • Independent enquirers
  • Reflective learners
  • Self-managers
  • Creative thinkers
  • Team workers
  • Effective participants.
Updated on September 2, 2022

Was this helpful?

Related content