1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. Apprenticeship Levels
  4. What Does Intermediate Apprenticeship Mean

What Does Intermediate Apprenticeship Mean

Intermediate apprenticeships are Level 2 apprenticeships that need five GCSE passes. They are a great way to start your future career, and for those over the age of 16, they offer an alternative to staying in school and learning in a traditional classroom environment.

As an intermediate apprentice, you will study for a qualification equal to five GCSEs, such as NVQ Level 2, and a knowledge-based qualification relevant to the sector and job position, such as a BTEC Diploma and Certificate. 

The entrance requirements for intermediate apprenticeships vary, with some firms needing two or more GCSEs and others not needing any academic qualifications. However, if you do not have GCSEs in English and Maths, you will undoubtedly be required to pass these subjects as part of your apprenticeship.

Intermediate apprenticeships are offered in a wide range of industries, including:

  • construction, planning and the built environment
  • leisure, travel and tourism
  • agriculture, horticulture and animal care
  • arts, media and publishing
  • business, administration and law
  • engineering and manufacturing technologies
  • retail and commercial enterprise
  • health, public services and care
  • education and training
  • information and communication technology
Updated on August 30, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles