1. Home
  2. Community
  3. Answers
  4. Apprenticeship Levels
  5. How Many Levels of Apprenticeships are there

How Many Levels of Apprenticeships are there

An apprenticeship involves working in actual work while studying for a technical qualification – usually one day per week at a college or training centre. You should have acquired the knowledge and experience needed to succeed in your chosen career or progress to the next apprenticeship level by the end of your apprenticeship.

The role with which you are practising determines what you can learn. However, apprentices in all parts follow an accredited research programme, which guarantees a nationally recognised qualification at the end of the apprenticeship.

How many levels of apprenticeships are there?

There are four stages of apprenticeship:

  • Intermediate is the equivalent of five high-level GCSEs.
  • Advanced – equal to two A-levels.
  • Upper – the first stages of higher education, such as a foundation degree.
  • Degree – a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree comparable.

In the United Kingdom, the structure of apprenticeship stages differs by region and by how many levels of apprenticeships are there. If you don’t live in England, read about apprenticeships in WalesScotland, or Northern Ireland.

Updated on September 6, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles