Fire Safety Inspector

Fire Safety Inspector

On a fire safety inspector apprenticeship course, you’ll help protect people by assessing the level of fire safety in buildings.

Prevention, protection, and response are the three components of the fire and rescue sector. The primary purpose of the fire safety inspector is to assess the level of fire safety in the built environment and, where necessary, make changes to save lives, avoid property and environmental damage, and promote economic growth.

You will engage with individuals in the community and attend meetings, such as safety advisory groups, regularly to address all aspects of fire safety. You will also support and teach community members, including mentoring and training, to encourage effective information sharing.

What you’ll learn

On a fire safety inspector apprenticeship course, you’ll learn to:

  • Conduct a fire safety audit/inspection of complex structures and venues to identify dangers and the level of fire safety management.
  • Identify and resolve safeguarding issues such as hoarding, child sexual exploitation, enslavement, and vulnerability.
  • Interpret and use technical information such as British Standards, Building Regulations, National Guidance, and Best Practice to enforce the Fire Safety Order.
  • Collaborate with other organisations such as local government building control, authorised inspectors, and licencing agencies.
  • Demonstrate clear communication skills and the ability to speak with a wide range of audiences while staying persuasive and confident. effectively communicate complicated ideas verbally and in writing
  • Examine submissions for fire safety design as well as fire preventive systems.
  • Assessing fire safety hazards, offering fire safety advice on demand, and making decisions to execute necessary adjustments
  • Respond to questions and requests from other organisations following the Primary Authority Scheme.

Entry requirements

You’ll usually need:

  • Depending on the employer, but likely GCSEs or equivalent qualifications or relevant experience.
  • Apprentices without level 2 English and maths will need to achieve this level before taking the end-point assessment.

Assessment methods

The End Point Assessment consists of three distinct assessment methods: 

  • Knowledge Test
  • Practical Assessment 
  • Professional Discussion

Duration and level

  • Duration: 24 months
  • Level: 4 – Higher Apprenticeship

Apprenticeship standard

More information about the Level 4 Fire Safety Inspector Apprenticeship standard can be found here.

Apprenticeship end point assessment

For more information about the End Point Assessment Process, please read the Institute of Apprenticeships’ information page.

Updated on October 2, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles